The Entomological Club
The Entomological Fund  is registered Charity no. 313386      
In 1826 the four original members of the Entomological Club: George

Samouelle, Abraham Davies, Samuel Hanson and Edward Newman,

did what many entomologists do. They decided to meet regularly, entertain one another for dinner, discuss insects, share specimens and go out collecting together several times a year. This was the foundation of the Entomological Club, the oldest extant entomological society in the world.  

In 1832 the number of members was raised to eight with the addition of William Bennett, John Curtis, James Bowerbank and Francis Walker, and membership remains at that number today. Members today still regularly meet for a meal and to discuss insects, visit important and interesting entomological sites, and organize meetings where new developments in entomology are discussed. Over the years many well-known entomologists have been members, such as Henry Bates, insect collector and developer of the theory of mimicry, pioneer British entomologist John Curtis, both Lionel and Miriam Rothschild, Alfred Russel Wallace, and many more. Their common characteristic is a huge pleasure at meeting friends and discussing their favourite topic – the wonderful world of insects.

One member of the Club, the dipterist George Verrall, enjoyed the social side of the Club so much that when he was chair he frequently invited more than 100 guests. This was the foundation of the annual ‘Verrall Supper’ in 1887. The Verrall Supper is still going today, run by a member of the Entomological Club – more information can be found here.

The Club has set up a charity, the Entomological Fund, which is available for small grants to study British insects; more information can be found here.
The founder of the Ckub
George Samouelle -
founder of the
Entomological Club
1 -